• About Us
  • Contact Us
Tuesday, July 8, 2025
Shop
RVCJ Media
No Result
View All Result
  • Bollywood & TV
  • Entertainment
  • Sports
  • Technology
  • Travel
  • Videos
  • Extras
  • Bollywood & TV
  • Entertainment
  • Sports
  • Technology
  • Travel
  • Videos
  • Extras
No Result
View All Result
RVCJ Media
No Result
View All Result
Home Sports

MCC Comes Out In Defense Of Akash Deep, Calls Joe Root’s Wicket Delivery Legal

Critics got the perfect answer

by Shuchi Bhatnagar
Jul 8, 2025
in Sports
Reading Time: 2 mins read
“You Are Done,” Dinesh Karthik Took A Dig At Ravi Shastri While Talking About His Last Test

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the official guardian of cricket laws, has firmly stated that Akash Deep’s delivery to dismiss Joe Root during the second Test of the Anderson-Tendulkar Trophy was completely within the rules, even though it sparked debate among fans and commentators who believed it might have been a no-ball.

MCC Comes Out In Defense Of Akash Deep, Calls Joe Root’s Wicket Delivery Legal - RVCJ Media

The incident took place on the fourth day of the Test match. Akash Deep, bowling over the wicket, angled the ball in from wide of the crease. The ball then moved away after pitching and went on to hit Root’s off-stump. However, replays showed part of Akash Deep’s back foot touching near or possibly over the return crease, the white line running parallel to the pitch beside the stumps. This led many to question whether it should have been called a no-ball.

RELATED STORIES

Virat Kohli Lauds India For Win On England, Nakuul Mehta Says “Come Out Of Premature Retirement”

Here Is The List Of All The Records Made Or Broken In India-England Edgbaston Test Match

Virat Kohli Lauds India For Win On England, Nakuul Mehta Says “Come Out Of Premature Retirement”

Shubman Gill Expresses Unhappiness Over The Condition Of Pitches & Duke Balls

The third umpire had already reviewed the delivery during the match and found that the foot was legal at the point it first landed, which is the key factor under cricket’s laws. The MCC has now supported this ruling and offered a detailed explanation to clear any remaining confusion.

In their statement, the MCC explained that while the delivery looked unusual and Akash Deep’s foot did seem to reach outside the crease afterward, it is only the first point of contact with the ground that matters when judging the legality of a bowler’s foot placement. At the moment Akash Deep’s back foot first touched the ground, it was clearly within the return crease and not on or over it. That initial position is what counts according to the laws and what happens with the foot afterward has no bearing on the legality of the delivery.

MCC Comes Out In Defense Of Akash Deep, Calls Joe Root’s Wicket Delivery Legal - RVCJ Media

ADVERTISEMENT

The MCC clarified that their definition of a fair delivery is based on the location of the back foot at the first moment it contacts the ground. In this case, Akash Deep was within bounds, making the ball legal and the decision correct.

Akash Deep went on to have an impressive performance in the match, taking ten wickets across the Test. He became only the second Indian bowler to achieve this feat in England. India went on to win the match convincingly by 336 runs, leveling the series 1-1.

ADVERTISEMENT
Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube

About Us

with our main focus on audience engagement, we deliver out-of-the-box and innovative content so that we stay connected to millions and cater to their interests.

ADVERTISEMENT

Categories

©2025 Copyright. RVCJ Digital Media Pvt Ltd

No Result
View All Result
  • Bollywood & TV
  • Entertainment
  • Sports
  • Technology
  • Travel
  • Videos
  • Extras
This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used. Visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.