Connect with us

Everything You Need To Know About The Indian Super League

Everything You Need To Know About The Indian Super League RVCJ Media


Everything You Need To Know About The Indian Super League



The 1st edition of Indian Super League began on the 12th of October with stars like Ranbir Kapoor, Saurav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar coming to Kolkata for the opening ceremony.

Football is finally getting its due recognition in our country and there is no greater footballing event than the ISL that has ever taken place here. Feel you need to catch up with everything about the ISL from the players to the owners? Then you’ve come to the right place.

1. Atletico De Kolkata 

499 (1)


Owners : Atletico Madrid, Harshvardhan Neotia, Sourav Ganguly and Utsav Parekh.

The Atletico Madrid De Kolkata team holds a special place in the ISL since one of their co-owners is Atletico Madrid, the current Spanish League champions and UEFA Champions League runners-up. They have a very good squad with some experienced players who know the game inside out. They won their first game comfortably against the Mumbai outfit on Sunday by a margin of 3-0.

 Star Players: Luis Garcia, Edel Bete, Jose Miguel, Gonzalez Ray and Sylvain Monsoreau

2. Chennaiyin FC



Owners: Abhishek Bachchan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Vita Dani.

The Chennaiyin FC is a good team that boasts of a very good squad. They have a lot of potential and at present are considered to be among the favorites to lift the trophy. They have former Manchester United player Mikel Silvestre and World Cup winner Marco Materazzi in their ranks.

Star Players: Marco Materazzi, Mikel Silvestre, Mendy and Djordjic.

3. Delhi Dynamos


Credits :

Owner: DEN Network.

The Delhi squad’s biggest plus point is that they have a lot of Indian players thus playing a huge role in honing future footballers for our country. Under the leadership of Football legend Alessandro Del Piero, they are bound to make a mark in this season of the ISL.

Star Players : Alessandro Del Piero.



Credits :

Owners: Venugopal Dhoot, Dattaraj Salgaocar, Srinivas Dempo and Virat Kohli.

Goa loves football. And it would only be fair that they had representation in the biggest Football event that has ever taken place in India. They have a vibrant squad full of youngsters who can change the game at any given point of time. They have Robert Pires in their team, who is an Arsenal FC Legend.

Star Players: Robert Pires, Andre Santos

5. Mumbai City FC



Owners: Bimal Parekh and Ranbir Kapoor

The Mumbai City FC is a star studded team boasting of legends. They also have Indian goalkeeping sensation Subrata Paul in their team who is hailed as one of the best players in the country. They have players like Nicholas Anelka, Freddie Ljungberg who on their day can outplay any team in the league.

Star Players: Nicholas Anelka, Freddie Ljungberg Manuel Friedrich, and Subrata Paul.

6. FC Pune City



Owners: Wadhawan group, ACF Fiorentina and Hrithik Roshan.

Pune City’s team also has a certain bragging right since their Co-owner is renowned Italian team Fiorentina. They are also owned by “Bang Bang” superstar Hrithik Roshan. They have a well balanced squad and if played right, the can surprise the good teams of the ISL. They are, indeed the dark horses of the tournament.

Star Players: Adrian Mutu and David Trezeguet.

7. NorthEast United FC



Owners: Shillong Lajong and John Abraham.

The Northeast United FC combines the Seven ‘Sister’ states of the North-East to give us an exciting team. The North-eastern states have a very good footballing culture and they have honed Indian football legends like Sunil Chhetri and Bhaichung Bhutia. Their team consists of a LOT of pace and skill and is guaranteed to entertain everyone.

Star Players: Joan Capdevila, Koke and Miguel Garcia.

8. Kerala Blasters FC



Owners: Prasad V Potluri and Sachin Tendulkar.

Owned by Sachin Tendulkar, the Kerala Blasters FC team is bound to have a huge fan following because of that one man. Er..sorry I meant God! Kerala also is a football hub and with a good team as theirs, they are bound to do well! They have a good squad depth and with the huge fan following, expect some quality football from this side!

Star players: David James, Stephen Pearson and Michael Chopra.

The league has already begun and the reception has been tremendous. I hope the ISL is successful in making Football a household sport like Cricket.

So come on India, LET’S FOOTBALL!

Which team are you rooting for in the ISL? Let us know in the comments below! Your opinion matters.

Share Your Views In Comments Below

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in News

To Top