Connect with us

India Vs New Zealand: Was MS Dhoni’s Wicket An Umpiring Error? Twitterians Are Boiling


India Vs New Zealand: Was MS Dhoni’s Wicket An Umpiring Error? Twitterians Are Boiling

India is officially out of the world cup after losing the match to New Zealand. Despite great efforts and good game Indian team failed to chase the score put up by New Zealand in its first inning. Starting of the Indian inning was very slow and disappointing. New Zealand took three Indian wickets back to back which left fans saddened.

MS Dhoni’s arrival after 6th wicket on the pitch raised Indian’s hope. Dhoni is the face of assurance and fans believe that he can even win a lost match. But his wicket in 48th over was the most heartbreaking moment for all the Indians.

Dhoni was run out by Martin Guptill after L Ferguson’s delivery. Though it was fair wicket, a video is going viral from the last game showing an umpiring error.

According to the video, the game was in its 3rd powerplay and only 5 fielders are allowed outside of the 30-yard circle. But the video showed six fielders near the boundary line. That means the ball which took Dhoni’s wicket was a no-ball.

Now fans are raising questions if the silly error by umpire has cost us out dream? It is something to think about that if umpire would have seen properly it might have turned into our favor or at least it would have been a fair game. Angry twitterians are bashing ICC and its umpires.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson confessed that Doni’s wicket was their biggest achievement of the game. After the match, he said, “We all know the game is a fine line in a number of ways. But that run-out was significant. We have seen Dhoni finish games from those similar positions on a number of occasions.”

“It was a tough surface so nothing promised but naturally to dismiss Dhoni in whatever fashion is extremely important, but for a direct hit run-out very similar to Jadeja’s I think was a big moment in the game.”

Share Your Views In Comments Below

More in Sports

To Top