Another case of controversial umpiring came up during the India vs West Indies match at Old Trafford in Manchester. Kemar Roach was bowling and Rohit Sharma was behind the bat, while one of the deliveries had Rohit split open. The umpire gave not out but West Indies captain Jason Holder made an appeal to the third umpire.
Third umpire Michael Gough didn’t look thoroughly at the footage and reversed the decision taken by on-field umpire Richard Illingworth.
It was visibly a wrong decision which left Rohit as well as his wife Ritika Sajdeh in shock. Rohit gave an ironic smile while walking out of the field. He was clearly disgusted and disappointed by the decision. This made Indian fans also angry and they started slamming the poor umpiring and ICC.
Just curious, how is that conclusive evidence that the ball hit bat first and not the pad? There's enough doubt there, no? Shouldn't the umpire be sticking with the on-field decision?#INDvWI #CWC19 pic.twitter.com/Uu3YKS3a4Z
— Vinayakk (@vinayakkm) June 27, 2019
— Anand Vasu (@anandvasu) June 27, 2019
For once I'm not convinced by that third umpire decision. Rohit Sharma wasn't either.
— Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj) June 27, 2019
— Rohit Sankar (@imRohit_SN) June 27, 2019
— subramani badrinath (@s_badrinath) June 27, 2019
— Gaurav Kalra (@gauravkalra75) June 27, 2019
— Nishad Pai Vaidya (@NishadPaiVaidya) June 27, 2019
Full sun on the ball, in the picture, on the right frame. Ball has hit the pad not the bat. Technology making the world a clearer picture, NOT!
Rohit has to accept the umpires decision, ctrl+alt+delete!#cwc2019🏆… https://t.co/FXRgzrFcMv
— Brad Hogg (@Brad_Hogg) June 27, 2019
Clearly touched the pad first but might have hit the bat too. But umpire was so quick to give Rohit out, should have looked in slow motion. Even the on field umpire was confused!! pic.twitter.com/pBVXoeTurx
— Mufaddal Vohra (@mufaddal_vohra) June 27, 2019
Wait a minute, @ICC didn't arrange for hot spot which would be definitely available for the Ashes a month later? Ridiculous. This decision will be cleared up by hot spot easily.
— A/S (@slicesofIife) June 27, 2019
That was an unbelievably poor decision. The 3rd umpire has the time and the angles to be sure. He is supposed to be certain to overturn.
— Boardman Gets Rings (@Jazz_CB) June 27, 2019