Connect with us

Suresh Raina Names 4 Cricketers Who Can Take Dhoni’s Place In CSK After His Retirement


Suresh Raina Names 4 Cricketers Who Can Take Dhoni’s Place In CSK After His Retirement

The Indian cricket fans are very excited as the IPL 2022 will start soon on March 26 with four times champion Chennai Super Kings clashing against the two times champion Kolkata Knight Riders at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. While MS Dhoni will be leading CSK in the same manner as he has been doing since the inaugural edition of 2008, KKR will step on the field under the leadership of their new skipper, Shreyas Iyer.

MS Dhoni has been the undisputed leader of CSK in the last 14 years except 2016-2017 when the Chennai franchise was banned from playing in the tournament. It is quite certain that MS Dhoni who has already retired from the international cricket will lead CSK in the IPL 2022 but it is also true that he will be retiring from the league in couple of years and the big question is that who will lead CSK after Dhoni bids goodbye to the IPL.

Suresh Raina, the former Indian cricketer was also an integral part of the Chennai team since last season but surprisingly CSK didn’t even bid for him in the mega-auction for the IPL 2022 and eventually, the left-handed batsman from Uttar Pradesh went unsold. Raina played for more than a decade for CSK and he is the only cricketer who has led CSK other than Dhoni, obviously in the absence of Mahi. Suresh Raina is also known as Mr. IPL because of his prolific batting, he is the fourth highest run-getter in the history of the IPL and he has certainly played an important role in CSK’s title wins excluding the IPL 2021.

Recently in an interview, Suresh Raina has named four cricketers whom he feels have the capability to lead the Chennai team after Dhoni retires from the league. In Raina’s opinion, the four cricketers who are capable of leading CSK are Ravindra Jadeja, Ambati Rayudu, Robin Uthappa and Dwayne Bravo.

In the four names stated by Suresh Raina, the Gujarat cricketer Ravindra Jadeja seems to be the strongest contender as he is the first retention of CSK and will be paid Rs. 16 crore while Dhoni is the second retention who will be paid Rs. 12 crore.

In the long term, Ruturaj Gaikwad who is the fourth retention (Rs. 6 crore) can also be a great option because he already leads Maharashtra in the domestic circuits.

Though Suresh Raina won’t be playing in the IPL 2022, he will still be a part of the tournament as he will make his debut in commentary this season.

In your opinion, which player will be the best option to lead CSK after Dhoni’s retirement from the IPL? Let us know your pick.

Share Your Views In Comments Below

More in Sports

To Top